District 2 & Municipalities

/District 2 & Municipalities
District 2 & Municipalities2018-12-12T15:27:53+00:00

District 2 has a number of Municipalities, or cities, partly or completely located within its borders. These include: Decatur, Atlanta, Chamblee, Brookhaven and Tucker. The order in which they incorporated is as follows:

 Decatur (1823)

 City of Atlanta (1885)

 Chamblee (1907)

 Brookhaven (2012)

 Tucker (2016)

Each city has both a unique relationship with the County and a unique history (the Brookhaven area was established in 1910, long before it incorporated). Furthermore, each city has taken its own approach to how best to serve its people. Their respective vision and mission statements suggest as much.

 “Brookhaven will be a national model for a walkable, urban community that preserves its unique character and history of neighborhoods, parks, and natural assets while welcoming higher density activity nodes that support transit use, biking, community hubs, sense of place, and diversity of residents and businesses”

 “The City of Chamblee aspires to be a healthy, vibrant, safe environment where residents live, work, play and grow in a diverse community valuing families and neighbors, respecting the historic qualities of our city.”

 “Our mission is to work with the citizens of Decatur to meet the needs of the community while serving all with respect and integrity. We strive to do so with Competence, Accessibility, Responsiveness and Excellence. We CARE!”  “The City’s inaugural mayor and council are using an innovative publicprivate partnership to deliver the high quality of service Tucker’s 35,000 residents and business owners deserve. With its rich history, strong community support, desirable location and mix of residential, office, commercial and industrial properties, along with parks and green space, the City of Tucker is poised for success well into the future.”

Though each city emphasizes different values and has different goals, their collaboration is necessary to ensure that the County’s growth and development remains strong, cohesive and sustainable.